A Dark Day for Public Education in NSW

In responding to the proposed funding cut by the NSW Government, Lila Mularczyk, President of the NSW Secondary Principals’ Council (SPC) said that the provision of education to its young people is among the highest obligations any government has.  As such, she said: “it should also be among its highest priorities for budgetary allocation and… Read more

Savage cuts to NSW state education – a letter to the Premier

The Honourable Barry O’Farrell  MP Premier NSW Minister for Western Sydney Dear Mr O’Farrell, The New South Wales Secondary Principals’ Council (SPC) expresses our strong opposition to the NSW State Government’s announced funding cuts to the essential service of education. The Gonski review clearly identified a need to invest in education by $6.5 billion in… Read more

2012 Bill Kennedy Medal – Judy King

The award in 2012 is given to Judy King, a person who represents everything a public school educator should be: a fierce advocate, a passionate teacher, an exceptional Principal and a leader committed to advancing public education. Judy has also worked across regions, as a leader in professional and industrial associations, in teacher education at… Read more

2013 NEC Fellowship

Awarded to Greg McDonald Deputy Principal, Batemans Bay HS. The NEC Fellowship is a joint NEC/SPC project funded by NEC. The Fellowship will be awarded to an aspiring Principal who is currently a substantive Deputy Principal’s in a NSW government school. The award will be presented during the NSWSPC’s Annual General Meeting. The Fellowship aims… Read more

2012 Academy Photography Fellowship

Awarded to Peter Macbeth – Bangamalanha Principal Aboriginal Education – Western Region, NSW Bangamalanha is the name of Western NSW Regional Aboriginal Education centre. It is a Wiradjuri word that means a special place of sharing. The Academy Photography Fellowship provides funding to the amount of $4000 annually to be used for the purpose of… Read more

Honorary Life Membership for Dr. Paul Brock

NSWSPC President Christine Cawsey presenting Dr Paul Brock with his Honorary Life Membership Dr Paul Brock was awarded an Honorary Life Membership with the NSWSPC on Friday 9 September. Dr Brock supports the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) – watch the video His Honorary Life Membership citation reads: Dr Paul Brock is a most worthy… Read more

2011 Bill Kennedy Medal – Andrew Newman

The 2011 Bill Kennedy Medal is awarded to Andrew Newman who has given significant service to the NSWSPC over 15 years in leading interest groups, reference groups and project teams. He has also been a state assembly delegate, ASPA observer and delegate and, since June 2007, deputy president of NSWSPC. Andrew has given, in the… Read more

2011 Academy Photography Fellowship

Awarded to Chris Presland – Principal St Clair High School, St Clair, NSW. The Academy Photography Fellowship provides funding to the amount of $4000 annually to be used for the purpose of educational research. Chris’ research is on the Consultant Principal (a future position?). He writes … It is widely accepted that the Principal of… Read more


Awarded to Jackie Saisithidej, Teacher, English & ESL St Clair High School The purpose of this award is to recognise an outstanding teacher of secondary English in NSW who has a demonstrated commitment to excellence in teaching and learning in subject English. Jackie’s citation reads …. Jackie is an exceptionally dedicated, talented, knowledgeable and inspiring… Read more

SPC and UTS cement new relationship

Christine Cawsey (SPC President) and Peter Booth (Senior Deputy Vice- Chancellor- UTS) sign the MoU. Chris Presland (SPC DP), Christine Cawsey, Jim McAlpine (SPC), Geoff Riordan (UTS), Jenny Lewis (ACEL), Peter Booth, Noel West (ACEL). The NSW Secondary Principals’ Council has signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the University of Technology Sydney. The MoU will… Read more

Business Partners

Education Partners